My Journey to New Jersey

It has been quite some time since I posted.  My life has been so hectic since the summer. Let me explain…

I have worked for dressbarn since I was just 20 years old, starting off as a Part-Time Sales Associate and working my way up to a Full-Time Assistant Manager.  I knew I always wanted to do more, just wasn’t sure what “more” was.  I went back to school and got my Bachelor’s Degree in Fine Art with a Merchandising Management minor.  I finally graduated this past spring…Emphasis on FINALLY!

I found an internship opportunity at dressbarn’s corporate office and I applied to literally every area I could until the website told me I submitted too many applications.  And I waited…and waited…and waited…

About two weeks before the internship began, I was desperate.  I hadn’t heard anything back so I reached out in every way I could, I called, I emailed, I posted on our blog, I reached out to Customer Service and my District Leader.  After a video interview, I got the position and was the new Product Development Intern!

I was so excited.  I packed up my life and hopped in my car and took off.  Just a straight 10 hour drive, all alone.  I got to my destination where there was intern housing for the summer and met my roommate.  All in all, I had a great experience at the internship.  It was so amazing to meet the executives and to be able to put faces to the names I had been hearing for so many years.

At the end of the internship, I saw a job opportunity in the Store Operations department and I knew it was something I could be great at.  Long story short… Here I am.

It was an actual dream of mine to work my way up in a company.  When I was asked at school what did I want to do once I graduated, I would always say, “I don’t know.  I just want to move up and stay at dressbarn.”  Who would have thought in just a few months of graduating I would actually be here?!

It gets lonely sometimes.  I am very much an introvert and I like to keep to myself, so it’s hard to branch out and make friends all alone in a brand new environment.  But I’m here.  And I’m trying.  And I’m doing it.

I can’t wait to see what the future holds for me…this is where my real journey begins.

xo – Ang

 

Leave a Reply

